Cristiano Ronaldo was first voted the best footballer in the world in 2008. That was the year Ronaldo won the Champions League with Manchester United and preceded his world record-breaking move to Real Madrid. The Portuguese superstar again received football’s ultimate individual accolade in 2013 and 2014. His great Barcelona rival Messi, meantime, has scooped the No.1 prize five times in seven years. The Argentine won the vote four years in succession in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and then again in 2015.

Three other Manchester United legends have also won the Ballon D’Or. The Red Devils’ famous ‘HolyTrinity’ all won the award in the space of five years during the 60s. Denis Law (1964), Bobby Charlton (1966) and George Best (1968) crowned a spectacular decade for the world’s most popular football club.